About Us


                 The establishment of “The Bengaluru District Central Co-operative Bank “on 1955 is a joint effort of 14 RSSN and 286 VSSSN belonging to Eight Taluks of Bangalore Urban, Bangalore Rural and Ramanagara. The Bank initially functioned under able leader ship of G Ramegowda (MLA-Doddabalapura) as the President of the Bank who along with nine Directors carried out the Administration of the Bank.

                   With the cooperative thinking and foresight of G. Ramegowda of Doddaballapura taluk  brought together 14 Farmers Service Co-operative Societies and 286 Service Co-operative Societies of 8 taluks of Bangalore to provide banking facilities and upliftment of the rural farmers in accordance with the vision of  our father of Nation Mahatma Gandhi  for the Financial Inclusion of the poor and downtrodden sections of the society.

                The initial Share capital of the Bank was Rs. 325000/- which was the share holder’s funds. During the term of G Ramegowda as the President during 1959 to 1975, 11 new branches were started at Taluk and Urban level. During the time the bank was providing Crop loan of Rs. 500/- and Cattle loan of Rs 1000/- for the Farmers through RSSN and VSSSN.

Later during Mr. Krishnappa’s tenure 1982 to 1984 4 new branches were opened at Yeshawantpur in 1982, Yelahanka in 1983, Silk Exchange branch in 1983, and Vijayapura branch in 1984.

In 1984 the bank’s performance accelerated and the bank progressed by providing credit facilities to member associations and customers.

After the establishment of NABARD, DCC Banks provided loans from NABARD to farmers at low interest rates from time to time during this time the Bank became financially strong and increased its annual turnover and profit by providing many credit facilities to farmers and other customers.

During the period of 1975 to 1978, RL Jalappa became president of the bank, the bank shifted to  a new building and this building was named “Lakshmisadan”.The  Bangalore District Central Co-operative Bank became BBRDCC (The Bangalore Bangalore rural and Ramnagara District Central Co-operative Bank Ltd.)  when “Bangalore District was divided into Bangalore City and Bangalore Rural District by Ramakrishna Hegde in 1986”.

The bank expanded its operations during period of RG Venkatachalaiah (09-10-1985 to 19-08-1991) with the opening of a new branch at Vartur. In 19-08-1991 Narayana Gowda of Kanakapur as the president the Bank expanded its operations by opening the Bidadi branch in December 1991, Thyamagondlu and Somanahalli branches in 1993 and 1992 respectively.

The BDCC Bank was chaired by BM Narayanaswamy from 07-07-1995 to 06-07-1998,and Gangahanumaiah was the Chairman of the Bank for the period from 06-07-1998 to 0706-1999. Later Mr. Narayana Gowda was the Chairman of BDCC Bank for the 3rd time from 07-06-1999 to 31-3-2010 for 11 years. KR Puram branch was established in 2003 during his tenure.

Scroll to Top